How Much Will a California DUI Conviction Cost Me?
You've been arrested for a DUI. Now what? Will you lose your license? Be thrown in jail? How much will it cost you financially?
It depends. Sentences vary from state to state, but if convicted of a DUI in California, you will likely be facing a combination of the following penalties:
Fines. A first time DUI conviction in California typically carries a penalty of between $390 to $1000 in fines. In addition to the fines, you will be required to pay anywhere up to $3000 in penalty assessments.
Second and subsequent convictions carry heavier fines, as do instances in which another person was injured.
Jail Time. California law allows for the judge to sentence you to up to six months in jail for a first time offense.
Additional Consequences and Misc. Fees. If this is your first time you're being convicted of a DUI, you will most likely retain the right to keep a restricted version of your driver's license.
However, you will have to pay restriction and reissue fees in order to keep the privilege of driving to and from work.
Additionally, you will be required to complete a mandatory DUI educational program. These programs can require a time commitment of up to one year.
Other consequences include paying impoundment and storage fees for your vehicle, two points added to your driving record (if you are given four points in a twelve month period your license will be revoked), and a mark on your record which will last for ten years.
Finally, your auto insurance premiums will likely increase, and you could face ramifications on the job if you had to miss work.
Each California conviction carries a harsher sentence than the one handed down previously. If you are going to court for what could be your second or subsequent DUI conviction, the sentences may be more rigid than those listed above.
Regardless of whether this is your first potential DUI conviction or your third, the consequences could be devastating. A conviction could cost you thousands of dollars, your license, and even jail time. A good attorney can help negate these costs by getting your case dismissed, or by convincing the judge to issue a lighter sentence.
How much will a DUI conviction cost you? Call our offices today for your free consultation and find out!
The Law Office of Robert Tayac
600 Montgomery Street, Suite 210
San Francisco, California 94111
Alameda County: 510.352.9500
Contra Costa County: 925.288.9800
Marin County: 415.552.6000
Napa County: 707.576.9900
San Mateo County: 650.570.3000
Santa Clara County: 408.985.8700
Sonoma County: 707.576.9900
San Francisco: 415.552.6000; Fax: 415.552.6099
Toll Free: 800.901.1888